*Updated 10 October 2020*

The government recognises that there are a number of regular visitors from mainly European countries who frequently spend long periods of visitation in South Africa during our summer season when it is winter in the Northern Hemisphere. Most of them own properties here. The government appreciates the significant economic contribution that these visitors make through their activities in the country. To this end, visitors in all categories who are coming to stay for a three month period or more may travel to SA, subject to Covid-19 protocols.

People who want to apply must direct email requests to Covid19BusinessTravel@dha.gov.za, supported by

(a)  a copy of passport and/or temporary residence visa;
(b)  proof of business activities to be undertaken in the Republic;
(c)  proof of travel itinerary; and
(d)  proof of address or accommodation in the Republic.

*Updated 2 October 2020*

South Africa opened its international borders for the first time in over six months on 1 October as part of the country’s move to a level 1 lockdown.

The government has developed a list of high and low-risk countries which will be allowed to travel to and from the country based on WHO guidelines over a seven-day period.

High risk travellers are those who come from countries with higher numbers of Covid-19 infections and reported deaths compared to South Africa.

Medium risk travellers are from countries with relatively equal number of infections and death toll to SA.

Low risk travellers obviously originate from countries with lesser number of infections of Covid-19 and death toll than SA.

The risks will be reviewed and the list updated every two weeks.

Leisure travellers from high-risk countries will not be permitted. The exception will be business travellers with critical skills including diplomats, repatriated persons, investors and people participating in professional sporting events, all of whom will have to undergo health protocol screenings.

The list of high risk countries as of 1 October is as follows – travellers from these countries may not currently visit SA:

  • Albania
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Columbia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Luxemburg
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Nepal
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Oman
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Slovakia
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Emirates
  • United Kingdom
  • USA
  • Venezuela

Travellers from all African Countries are allowed to visit South Africa. South Africans may travel freely to any country which is accepting visitors from SA.

International air travel will be restricted to the following airports:

  • OR Tambo International Airport
  • King Shaka International Airport
  • Cape Town International Airport

We will continue to update this list as further information is released.